Now is the time to quit smoking

cigarette1I received an email from my brother telling me it is now over $5.oo for a pack of cigarettes. There was another tax increases with yet another one coming up shortly. You can read about it here.

I’ve been a smoker for about 30 years and a steady smoker for about 25 years. Quitting will not be easy but there is a price to pay for being stupid.

Motivation is needed. It can come from many sources. Here are a few.

1) Smoking is really bad for you. I had a grandmother die from emphysema and it is not a good way to go.

2) Smoking only puts more money in .gov coffers. Quit smoking and do your part in starving the beast.

3) If you are like me, and believe a crash is imminent, quitting smoking can only help you.

4) If you don’t believe a crash is imminent, quitting smoking can only help you.

5) Think of all that money you will save.

Here is something that is guaranteed to piss you off. Calculate how much money you have spent in the last year on smokes.

To help, I suggest you NOT keep your effort to yourself. Tell your family and / or friends and let them hold you accountable.

I’ve been down this road before. I will not go down this road again. It’s time to quit for real. I am down to my last pack. I will buy no more.

